Denver Colorado Criminal Law Blog

Understanding Express Consent Hearings and Penalties

In Colorado, if a driver is stopped for an alcohol or drug-related driving offense, he or she may receive an express consent affidavit and notice of revocation by a police officer or the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV). The DMV may hold an administrative hearing to determine whether the driver’s license should be restricted.

Express Consent Hearings

At the hearing, the officer will review documentation submitted by the DMV and will accept the driver’s evidence and any testimony he or she wants to present.

The hearing officer will also consider two issues. The first is whether the driver operated the vehicle with a breath or blood alcohol content above the legal limit of 0.08 or higher and whether it was within two hours of the time the driver operated the vehicle.

The second is whether the driver refused to take, select or cooperate with a chemical test when a police officer had probable cause to believe that the offense occurred.

Penalties

The length of the driver’s license revocation may depend on several factors.

If the driver’s blood alcohol content was 0.08 or greater and he or she is over 21 years old, the license may be restrained for 9 months for a first offense, 12 months for a second offense and 24 months for a third offense. It may be eligible for early reinstatement.

If the driver is under 21 years of age and his or her blood alcohol content was 0.079 or less, the license may be restrained for 3 months for the first offense, 24 months for a second offense and 36 months for a third offense. It is not eligible for early reinstatement.

An experienced attorney can provide advice and representation for alcohol and drug-related offenses.

Peter Albani round headshot Criminal defense attorney Denver, Colorado

Colorado Criminal Defense Attorney

Peter Albani is a Colorado criminal defense attorney with a statewide law practice. He routinely represents clients on criminal matters ranging from DUI to homicide. Albani Law represents clients in Park County (Fairplay), Summit County (Breckenridge), Lake County (Leadville), Eagle County (Eagle), Chaffee County (Salida), and all Front Range Colorado Counties.

Call Peter at (303) 753-0900 and he will take your phone call personally.

Recent Posts

Understanding Miranda

MIRANDA V. ARIZONA – DEMYSTIFYING THE MOST FAMOUS CRIMINAL CASE OF ALL TIME. MIRANDA V. ARIZONA (Miranda) is the most famous criminal case of all time. While the Miranda case

Read More »

Child Abuse – No Injury

Misdemeanor Child Abuse Charge (no injury) in Colorado A criminal charge is devastating. A child abuse charge is beyond devastating. The stigma and vast legal ramifications associated with child abuse

Read More »

Reckless Driving Verses Caresless Driving

What is the difference between Reckless Driving and Careless Driving? RECKLESS DRIVING  Reckless Driving is more severe under the law than Careless Driving.Reckless Driving is defined as: Driving a motor vehicle,

Read More »