Denver Colorado Criminal Law Blog

Child Abuse – No Injury

Misdemeanor Child Abuse Charge (no injury) in Colorado

A criminal charge is devastating. A child abuse charge is beyond devastating. The stigma and vast legal ramifications associated with child abuse are staggering.

At Albani Law we have successfully represented hundreds of clients facing child abuse charges. If you or a loved one are facing a child abuse charge, call us  immediately at (303) 753-0900. 

Collateral Consequences of Child Abuse

Beyond the penalties associated with a criminal charge, the crime of child abuse carries a wide array of legal consequences. You will face:

  • · loss of your ability to parent your child
  • · loss of visitation
  • · loss of employment,
  • · loss of a professional license
  • · loss of a career
  • · placement on a child abuse register.
  • You should immediately seek legal representation.

A person commits child abuse (no injury) if he/she unreasonably places a child in a position where an injury can occur, even if no injury results.  CRS 18-6-401. A “child” is someone under the age of 16 years old. See CRS 18-6-401 (2). Where the child abuse results in no injury, the charge is generally a class three misdemeanor. A class three misdemeanor is punishable by up to 6 months in jail and a $1000 fine. A sentence to probation may be allowed.

PRIOR CONVICTION However, if an offender has a previous child abuse conviction in Colorado or any other state of territory of the United States, the charge becomes a class five felony.

Drunk Driving – Child in Vehicle  

A charge of child abuse – no injury – frequently arises if a parent is stopped for drunk driving and there is an infant or young child in the back seat. This charge of child abuse commonly arises when a child is not properly secured in a car seat.

UNATTENDED CHILD IN A VEHICLE 

  • A charge of child abuse will be filed if the offender leaves a child unattended in a vehicle. You should NEVER leave a child unattended in a vehicle.  Not for any length of time nor for any reason. Temperatures can quickly soar in an unattended vehicle and the risks to the child are extreme. 

An experienced defense attorney will try to mitigate the charge of child abuse and get you your life back. A defense attorney will try to help the District Attorney understand that his client made a mistake and is taking the steps needed to correct the errant conduct. An experienced defense lawyer will look at options to remove the case from under the child abuse umbrella.

Parenting Classes – NCTI 

The National Corrective Training Institute offers parenting classes. You should immediately contact this organization and begin parenting classes. If alcohol was involved, you should immediately begin serious drug and alcohol treatment classes and even therapy.

AT PETER ALBANI LAW, WE DEFFEND ALL CHILD ABUSE CHARGES. 

DEFENDING CHILD ABUSE CHARGES IS A CORNERSTONE OF OUR PRACTICE.  WE DEFEND ALL MISDEMEANOR AND FELONY CHILD ABUSE CHARGES.  FACING A CHARGE OF CHILD ABUSE IN COLORADO, CALL US TODAY AT (303) 753-0900. WE CAN HELP. 

Peter Albani round headshot Criminal defense attorney Denver, Colorado

Colorado Criminal Defense Attorney

Peter Albani is a Colorado criminal defense attorney with a statewide law practice. He routinely represents clients on criminal matters ranging from DUI to homicide. Albani Law represents clients in Park County (Fairplay), Summit County (Breckenridge), Lake County (Leadville), Eagle County (Eagle), Chaffee County (Salida), and all Front Range Colorado Counties.

Call Peter at (303) 753-0900 and he will take your phone call personally.

Recent Posts

Understanding Miranda

MIRANDA V. ARIZONA – DEMYSTIFYING THE MOST FAMOUS CRIMINAL CASE OF ALL TIME. MIRANDA V. ARIZONA (Miranda) is the most famous criminal case of all time. While the Miranda case

Read More »

Child Abuse – No Injury

Misdemeanor Child Abuse Charge (no injury) in Colorado A criminal charge is devastating. A child abuse charge is beyond devastating. The stigma and vast legal ramifications associated with child abuse

Read More »

Reckless Driving Verses Caresless Driving

What is the difference between Reckless Driving and Careless Driving? RECKLESS DRIVING  Reckless Driving is more severe under the law than Careless Driving.Reckless Driving is defined as: Driving a motor vehicle,

Read More »